Mac in Action

Several weeks ago, my MacBook Pro’s monitor started acting up. I purchased my 15″ MBP in November of 2007, so it was about two months out-of-warranty when the monitor would inadvertently not come on during boot or flicker off during use. Finally, after I lived for a month with the display’s new capriciousness, it went off for good.

Despite my better judgment, I took it to the local computer place: the so-called Quality Computer Systems on Riverside Drive in Macon, Georgia. I link to them, not to send them business, but to hopefully let my experience reflect on their business. What I mean by “better judgment” is based on my first experience with them. A couple of years ago, I had a 12″ PowerBook that I spilled a bit of water on. It immediately went dead and would not boot, even after several hours to let it dry. I thought I hosed the computer, so I took it to QCS for their diagnosis. After it sat there for about three days, they called me and said it was ready. Apparently, just letting dry for a bit longer was all that was necessary; that’ll be $85. “For what,” I asked. “Well, it did boot, but we ran diagnostics to see if everything was OK.” Fine, I thought, paying the money, but feeling ripped off. I made a mental note at the time never to go back there again. They could have at least called me before they ran those diagnostics.

Well, flash forward a couple of years to my current monitor problem. Apparently, I have forgotten about my experience with them or was just distracted by my current dilemma. I packed up my ailing MBP and headed to QCS. This was a Thursday. Nearly a week later, they called me to report my logic board needed to be replaced (the video card is shot, and that lives on the logic board). A new logic board would be about $1200. I told them I’d just come get the computer. “That’ll be $85.” I paid it without a word. While it did take them a week to get to it, it wasn’t their fault my computer seemed beyond repair.

I began looking for another computer thinking I could sell my MBP for parts. Autumn just got a new MacBook, and we decided we could share that as well as a new 24″ iMac for the house. Since the blogosphere was a-twitter with rumors of imminent new iMacs, I decided to wait. When they were finally announced a couple of days ago, I was underwhelmed with the offerings. Had the upgraded iMacs had LED monitors, this story might have ended differently.

“What the hell,” I thought, “I’ll give Apple a call about my MBP.” Giles reminded me of the number: 800-SOS-APPL. I called, and I was almost immediately connected with a guy named Anthony. I explained the problem, and he was sympathetic. He checked the price of a new logic board, and came up with the same number that QCS gave me. “Hold on,” he said, “let me check one other thing.” He was gone for a minute, and when he came back, he had a better price for me: $350. Apparently, since I had not abused my computer, this is the adjusted out-of-warranty price. I had a box the next day and received my fixed MBP yesterday from Apple. Sweet.

I gotta say: I was not expecting such a positive outcome. My experience with Apple and customer service lately has not been what it used to be when they were not on top. I am pleasantly surprised, and my faith in my favorite computer company has been renewed. Thanks, Apple.

As for QCS: couldn’t they have called Apple for me? The more I think about it, the more upset I get. This is what local customer service has turned in to. I guess, because of geography, they feel they have some sort of monopoly here in central Georgia (is that called an oligopoly?). I think they could have done more. I’m out $160+ from my two experiences with them, and what did I get either time? Really. I will not be going back, and I actually feel like writing to the owner. I would, if I felt it would do any good.

4 thoughts on “Mac in Action

  1. Oh I know what you are talking about when it comes to local computer stores charging you crazy rates. We have one in Warner Robins doing the same thing.

  2. Hey,
    Quality COmputers is not a REAL Apple repair store because they don’t even take care of warranty work even if your computer was in warranty. Try AIS Computers http://www.aiscomputers.com/ They are in Fayetteville, GA, a little drive but worth it.

Leave a comment